Wednesday, March 24, 2010

2010 Bancroft Prize Winners Announced

The 2010 winners of the Bancroft Prize have been announced.

The Bancroft Prizes are awarded annually by Columbia University in the New York City. Under the terms of the will of the late Fredric Bancroft, provision is made for annual prizes to be awarded to the authors of distinguished works in either or both of the following categories: American History (including Biography) and Diplomacy.

The winners of the Bancroft Prize for 2010 are:

  • Abigail Adams by Woody Holton
  • Dorothea Lange: A Life Beyond Limits by Linda Gordon, and
  • White Mother to a Dark Race: Settler Colonialism, Maternalism and the Removal of Indigenous Children in the American West and Australia, 1880-1940 by Margaret D. Jacobs

You'll find a back history of all the Bancroft Prize winners on the BookGuide site, dating back to 1948, with hotlinks directly into the library catalog for those titles owned by the Lincoln City Libraries.

No comments: